

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

THREE ARBITRATORS APPOINTED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE TRIBUNAL IN THE ARBITRAL PROCEEDINGS INSTITUTED BY MAURITIUS AGAINST THE UNITED KINGDOM IN RESPECT OF THE DISPUTE CONCERNING THE 'MARINE PROTECTED AREA' RELATED TO THE CHAGOS ARCHIPELAGO

On 25 March 2011, the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Judge José Luis Jesus, appointed three arbitrators to serve as members of the Annex VII arbitral tribunal instituted in respect of the dispute between Mauritius and the United Kingdom concerning the 'Marine Protected Area' related to the Chagos Archipelago. The arbitrators are Ivan Shearer (Australia), James Kateka (Tanzania), and Albert Hoffmann (South Africa). The President appointed Ivan Shearer as the president of the arbitral tribunal. These appointments were made in consultation with the two parties to the dispute.

In accordance with article 3 of Annex VII of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, if the parties are unable to reach an agreement on the appointment of one or more of the members of the tribunal to be appointed by agreement, or on the appointment of the president of the arbitral tribunal, these appointments shall be made by the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea at the request of a party to the dispute and in consultation with the parties.

In a letter dated 21 February 2011, the Solicitor-General of Mauritius, acting on behalf of the Government of Mauritius, requested the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea to appoint the three arbitrators, since the two parties were unable to reach an agreement thereon.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: http://www.itlos.org and <a href="http://