

## INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

## **Press Release**

## JUDGE DOLLIVER NELSON ELECTED AS PRESIDENT OF THE TRIBUNAL

Hamburg, 1 October. Judge Dolliver Nelson (Grenada) was today elected as President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea by the Members of the Tribunal for the period 2002 to 2005. President Nelson has been a member of the Tribunal since 1996 and served as the Vice-President of the Tribunal from 1999 to 2002.

The President is elected for a period of three years. He presides over hearings in disputes submitted to the Tribunal and over the meetings of the judges. In the event of an equality of votes, the President has a casting vote. He directs the work and supervises the administration of the Tribunal and represents the Tribunal in its relations with States and other entities. The President resides at the seat of the Tribunal in the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg.

The outgoing President, Judge P. Chandrasekhara Rao, conducted the elections for the presidency. He thanked everyone for their support during his term of office as the President of the Tribunal.

## **President Dolliver Nelson**

Born: Sauteurs, Grenada, 27 June 1932. Education: B.A., University of the West Indies (1954); LL.M., London School of Economics (1964); Ph.D., London School of Economics (1969); Barrister-at-Law, Gray's Inn, London (1971); admitted to the Bar of Grenada (1972). Professional Experience: Lecturer in Law, London School of Economics (1970-1977); Law of the Sea Officer (1974-1976), Senior Law of the Sea Officer (1976-1984), Deputy-Director (1984–1994), Office of Legal Affairs, Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea; Secretary, Drafting Committee of the Third UN Conference on the Law of the Sea (1974–1982); Visiting Professor at Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada (1980); Executive Secretary, Preparatory Commission for the International Seabed Authority and for the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (1983–1994); acted as Legal Adviser in the Secretary-General's informal consultations on deep seabed mining issues, which concluded in 1994 with the adoption of the Agreement relating to the implementation of Part XI of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (1990–1994); Secretary, Conference on Straddling Fish Stocks and Highly Migratory Fish Stocks (1993-1994); Visiting Professor of International Law, London School of Economics (1995-present); lectured on aspects of the law of the sea in several institutions and actively participated in numerous

(more)

seminars and workshops in various parts of the world. **Member:** Committee on Legal Issues of the Outer Continental Shelf, International Law Association (Chairman 2000–present); Editorial Board, *Marine Policy* (1993–present); Committee on Coastal State Jurisdiction relating to Marine Pollution, International Law Association (1992–2000); research team responsible for the Commentary on the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, Center for Oceans Law and Policy, University of Virginia (1984–1994); Committee on the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ), International Law Association (Rapporteur 1982–1989); Committee on the Law of the Sea, International Law Association (1974–1980); American Society of International Law (1970–present). **Publications:** Contributed to various international legal periodicals and publications, including *The British Year Book of International Law Review*; and reports to conferences of the International Law Association on Exclusive Economic Zone matters. **Honours:** Fiftieth Anniversary Distinguished Graduate Award, University of the West Indies, 1998.

The Press Releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tiddm.org and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms. Julia Pope at Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227, Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: press@itlos.org