

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

APPOINTMENT OF ARBITRATORS UNDER ANNEX VII TO THE UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION ON THE LAW OF THE SEA

PRESIDENT PAIK APPOINTS THREE ARBITRATORS IN THE ARBITRAL PROCEEDINGS INSTITUTED BY UKRAINE AGAINST THE RUSSIAN FEDERATION IN RESPECT OF A DISPUTE CONCERNING THE DETENTION OF THREE UKRAINIAN NAVAL VESSELS AND THE TWENTY-FOUR SERVICEMEN ON BOARD

By Notification of 1 April 2019, Ukraine instituted arbitral proceedings against the Russian Federation pursuant to Annex VII to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (the "Convention"). In accordance with article 3, subparagraph (b), of Annex VII to the Convention, the Notification included the appointment of Sir Christopher Greenwood (United Kingdom) as a member of the arbitral tribunal. In accordance with article 3, subparagraph (c), of Annex VII to the Convention, the Russian Federation subsequently nominated Professor Vladimir Vladimirovich Golitsyn as a member of the arbitral tribunal.

In accordance with article 3 of Annex VII to the Convention, if the parties to arbitral proceedings are unable to reach an agreement on the appointment of one or more of the three other members of the arbitral tribunal, or on the appointment of the president of the arbitral tribunal, these appointments may be made by the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea at the request of a party to the dispute and in consultation with the parties. This function of appointing authority is conferred upon the President of the Tribunal by Annex VII to the Convention.

By letter of 12 June 2019, the Agent of Ukraine informed the President of the Tribunal, Judge Jin-Hyun Paik, that no agreement had been reached between the Parties on the appointment of the three remaining members of the arbitral tribunal and requested President Paik to appoint them and to designate as president one of the three members appointed.

On 10 July 2019, further to consultations with the Parties, President Paik appointed Mr Donald McRae (Canada), Mr Rüdiger Wolfrum (Germany) and Mr Gudmundur Eiriksson (Iceland) as arbitrators in the arbitration proceedings instituted by Ukraine against the Russian Federation in respect of a dispute concerning the detention of three Ukrainian naval vessels and the twenty-four servicemen on board. President Paik also appointed Mr McRae as president of the same arbitral tribunal.

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter or Mr Benjamin Benirschke at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: press@itlos.org