

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

SWEARING-IN CEREMONY FOR FIVE NEW MEMBERS OF THE TRIBUNAL

At a public ceremony held this morning, Mr Öscar Cabello Sarubbi (Paraguay), Ms Neeru Chadha (India), Mr Kriangsak Kittichaisaree (Thailand), Mr Roman Kolodkin (Russian Federation) and Ms Liesbeth Lijnzaad (The Netherlands) were sworn in as members of the Tribunal. The five judges were elected at the twenty-seventh Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to serve a term of nine years, commencing on 1 October 2017. Before taking up their duties, newly elected judges are required to make a solemn declaration that they will exercise their powers as judges impartially and conscientiously. The declarations were made today in the presence of the Tribunal.



From left to right: Judges Cabello Sarubbi, Lijnzaad, Chadha, Kittichaisaree and Kolodkin

The *curricula vitae* of the five new judges may be found on the <u>website</u> of the Tribunal. A <u>webcast</u> of the ceremony is also available.

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: press@itlos.org