

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

TWO ARBITRATORS APPOINTED IN THE ARBITRAL PROCEEDINGS INSTITUTED BY THE REPUBLIC OF MALTA AGAINST THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF SAO TOME AND PRINCIPE IN RESPECT OF A DISPUTE CONCERNING THE VESSEL DUZGIT INTEGRITY

On 13 March 2014, the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea, Judge Shunji Yanai, appointed Mr Alfred Soons (the Kingdom of the Netherlands) as arbitrator and president of the Annex VII arbitral tribunal instituted in respect of a dispute between the Republic of Malta and the Democratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe concerning the vessel *Duzgit Integrity*. Previously, on 27 December 2013, the President had appointed Mr James L. Kateka (United Republic of Tanzania) as member of the arbitral tribunal. These appointments were made in consultation with the two parties to the dispute.

In accordance with article 3 of Annex VII of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, if the parties are unable to reach an agreement on the appointment of one or more of the members of the arbitral tribunal, or on the appointment of the president of the arbitral tribunal, these appointments shall be made by the President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea at the request of a party to the dispute and in consultation with the parties.

By a Notification dated 22 October 2013, the Republic of Malta instituted arbitral proceedings against the Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe pursuant to Annex VII to the Convention. In accordance with article 3, subparagraph (b), of Annex VII to the Convention, the Notification dated 22 October 2013 included the appointment of Mr Tullio Treves (Italy) as a member of the arbitral tribunal.

The appointments were made in consultation with the two Parties to the dispute and on the basis of the agreement between them that the procedure for the constitution of the arbitral tribunal composed of three arbitrators is governed by the provisions of Annex VII to the Convention and that article 3 of Annex VII applies *mutatis mutandis*.

As a result, the composition of the three-member Annex VII arbitral tribunal is as follows: Mr Alfred Soons (the Kingdom of the Netherlands), president, Mr Tullio Treves (Italy) and Mr James L. Kateka (United Republic of Tanzania).

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (<u>http://www.itlos.org</u> and <u>http://www.tidm.org</u>) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: <u>press@itlos.org</u>