

## INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

# Press Release

#### RECONSTITUTION OF THE CHAMBERS OF THE TRIBUNAL

The Chambers of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea have been reconstituted by the Tribunal.

#### **Seabed Disputes Chamber**

The Seabed Disputes Chamber is established in accordance with Part XI, section 5, of the Convention and article 14 of the Statute. The Chamber has jurisdiction in disputes with respect to activities in the International Seabed Area. The Chamber is composed of 11 judges, who are selected by the members of the Tribunal every three years. The selection process ensures the representation of the principal legal systems of the world and equitable geographical distribution. The Chamber elects its President from among its members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2014 is as follows:

President Judge Golitsyn

Members Judges Marotta Rangel, Nelson, Chandrasekhara Rao, Akl, Wolfrum,

Ndiaye, Jesus, Türk, Gao, Bouguetaia

#### **Chamber of Summary Procedure**

In accordance with article 15, paragraphs 3 and 4, of the Statute, the Chamber of Summary Procedure may hear and determine a case by summary procedure if the parties so request. In addition, the Chamber may prescribe provisional measures if the Tribunal is not in session or a sufficient number of members is not available to constitute a quorum. The Chamber of Summary Procedure, constituted annually, is composed of five members and two alternates, as provided for by the Statute. The President and the Vice-President of the Tribunal are members *ex officio* of the Chamber; the President of the Tribunal serves as President of the Chamber. The Chamber was constituted as follows for the period ending 30 September 2012:

President Yanai (ex officio)

Members Vice-President Hoffmann (ex officio), Judges Lucky, Kateka, Golitsyn

Alternates Judges Paik, Attard

#### **Chamber for Fisheries Disputes**

The Chamber for Fisheries Disputes, established in accordance with article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with such disputes concerning the conservation and management of marine living resources as parties may agree to submit to it. The Chamber

consists of nine members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2014 is as follows:

President Judge Ndiaye

Members Judges Cot, Pawlak, Kateka, Gao, Paik, Kelly, Attard, Kulyk

### **Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes**

The Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes, established in accordance with article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with such disputes relating to the protection and preservation of the marine environment as parties may agree to submit to it. The Chamber consists of seven members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2014 is as follows:

President Judge Lucky

Members Judges Wolfrum, Cot, Bouguetaia, Golitsyn, Paik, Kelly

#### **Chamber for Maritime Delimitation Disputes**

The Chamber for Maritime Delimitation Disputes, established in accordance with article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with such disputes on maritime delimitation as parties may agree to submit to it. The Chamber consists of eleven members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2014 is as follows:

President President Yanai

Members Judges Nelson, Chandrasekhara Rao, Akl, Wolfrum, Ndiaye, Jesus, Cot,

Pawlak, Gao, Bouguetaia

Note: The press releases of the Tribunal do not constitute official documents and are issued for information purposes only.

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites (<a href="http://www.itlos.org">http://www.itlos.org</a> and <a href="http://www.tidm.org">http://www.tidm.org</a>) and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter at: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227; Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245; E-mail: <a href="mailto:press@itlos.org">press@itlos.org</a>