

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

Press Release

RECONSTITUTION OF THE CHAMBERS OF THE TRIBUNAL

The Chambers of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea were reconstituted by the Tribunal at a meeting held on 2 October 2008.

Seabed Disputes Chamber

The Seabed Disputes Chamber is established in accordance with Part XI, section 5, of the Convention and article 14 of the Statute. The Chamber has jurisdiction in disputes with respect to activities in the International Seabed Area. The Chamber is composed of 11 judges, who are selected by the members of the Tribunal every three years. The selection process ensures the representation of the principal legal systems of the world and equitable geographical distribution. The Chamber elects its President from among its members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2011 is as follows:

President Judge Treves

Members Judge Marotta Rangel

Judge Nelson

Judge Chandrasekhara Rao

Judge Wolfrum Judge Yanai Judge Kateka Judge Hoffmann Judge Gao

Judge Bouguetaia Judge Golitsyn

Chamber of Summary Procedure

In accordance with article 15, paragraphs 3 and 4, of the Statute, the Chamber of Summary Procedure may hear and determine a case by summary procedure if the parties so request. In addition, the Chamber may prescribe provisional measures if the

Tribunal is not in session or a sufficient number of members is not available to constitute a quorum.

The Chamber of Summary Procedure, constituted annually, is composed of five members and two alternates, as provided for by the Statute. The President and the Vice-President of the Tribunal are members *ex officio* of the Chamber; the President of the Tribunal serves as President of the Chamber. The Chamber was constituted as follows for the period ending 30 September 2009:

President Jesus
Members Vice-President Türk

Judge Yankov Judge Ndiaye Judge Lucky

Alternates Judge Treves

Judge Yanai

Chamber for Fisheries Disputes

The Chamber for Fisheries Disputes, established in accordance with article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with disputes concerning the conservation and management of marine living resources, which parties may agree to submit to it. The Chamber consists of seven members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2011 is as follows:

President Judge Caminos Members Judge Treves

> Judge Pawlak Judge Yanai Judge Kateka Judge Hoffmann Judge Gao

Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes

The Chamber for Marine Environment Disputes, established in accordance with article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with disputes relating to the protection and preservation of the marine environment which parties may agree to submit to it. The Chamber consists of seven members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2011 is as follows:

President Judge Cot Members Judge Park Judge Wolfrum Judge Lucky Judge Kateka Judge Gao Judge Golitsyn

Chamber for Maritime Delimitation Disputes

The Chamber for Maritime Delimitation Disputes, established in accordance with article 15, paragraph 1, of the Statute, is available to deal with disputes on maritime delimitation which parties may agree to submit to it. The Chamber consists of nine members. The composition of the Chamber for the period ending 30 September 2011 is as follows:

President **President Jesus** Members Judge Nelson

Judge Chandrasekhara Rao

Judge Akl Judge Ndiaye Judge Cot Judge Pawlak Judge Yanai

Judge Bouguetaia

The Press Releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Mrs Julia Ritter or Mrs Johanna van Kisfeld at Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, Germany, Tel.: +49 (40) 35607-227, Fax: +49 (40) 35607-245;

E-mail: press@itlos.org