

## INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNAL FOR THE LAW OF THE SEA TRIBUNAL INTERNATIONAL DU DROIT DE LA MER

## **Press Release**

## MR GAO ZHIGUO (CHINA) ELECTED AS NEW MEMBER OF THE TRIBUNAL

Hamburg, 31 January 2008. Mr Gao Zhiguo was elected at a Special Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea held yesterday to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Judge Xu Guangjian (China) on 15 August 2007. In accordance with article 6 of the Statute of the Tribunal, Mr Gao will hold office for the remainder of his predecessor's nine-year term, which expires on 30 September 2011. Mr Gao was the only candidate, obtaining 136 votes out of 137 ballots cast, with one abstention.

Until his election, Mr Gao was Executive Director of the China Institute for Marine Affairs. From 2003 to 2007 he served as Deputy to the Tenth National People's Congress of China and was a Member of the Foreign Affairs Committee of the National People's Congress. He is Honorary Lecturer at the University of Dundee and Adjunct Professor at the China University of Oceanography, the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the University of Xiamen, and has acted as legal consultant to numerous States and international organizations on ocean development policy. Mr Gao has published many books and articles in the field of international law and law of the sea.

Judge Gao's detailed biographical information may be found on the website of the Tribunal at: <u>http://www.itlos.org/general\_information/judges/text\_en.shtml</u>

The press releases of the Tribunal, documents and other information are available on the Tribunal's websites: http://www.itlos.org and http://www.tidm.org and from the Registry of the Tribunal. Please contact Ms Julia Ritter: Am Internationalen Seegerichtshof 1, 22609 Hamburg, (Germany) Telephone: +49 (040) 35607-227, fax: +49 (040) 35607-245/275 e-mail: <u>press@itlos.org</u>.

\* \* \*